Franklin Common Council to honor state champion football team tonight

Franklin Football (@Saber_Football) / Twitter

A special proclamation will be presented at tonight’s meeting of the Franklin Common Council. Scroll to page five (5) to read it. Very nice.

IF I had written the proclamation:


WHEREAS, the Franklin Sabers consistently have one of the best football teams every year, not just in SE Wisconsin but the entire state, and

WHEREAS, the Franklin Sabers entered the 2021 season with very high expectations, and

WHEREAS, the Franklin Sabers finished the 2021 regular season schedule undefeated, including a thrilling “Hail Mary” 35-31 victory over Appleton North and a 34-14 win over conference rival Oak Creek, and

WHEREAS, the Franklin Sabers defeated Milwaukee Riverside University, Oak Creek, Bay Port,  and Appleton North high schools in playoff games leading to the WIAA Division One State Championship game, and

WHEREAS, on November 19, 2021, at Camp Randall Stadium in Madison, Wisconsin, the Franklin Sabers defeated Sun Prairie 38-17 to capture the WIAA Division One State Championship title, and

WHEREAS, Franklin Sabers Coach Louis Brown was named The Wisconsin Football Coaches Association/Green Bay Packers Coach of the Year, and

WHEREAS, Franklin Saber Myles Burkett  WAS  NAMED The Associated Press state football player of the year and was also named the 2021 Dave Krieg Award winner by the Wisconsin Sports Network for most outstanding senior quarterback in the state of Wisconsin, and

WHEREAS, Franklin Sabers Myles Burkett, Chad Schuster, Keaton Arendt, Jack Baretz, and Daniel Martens were named to the 2021 Wisconsin Football Coaches Association All-State Team, and

WHEREAS, The entire Franklin Saber team, coaches and players generated tremendous pride and unity in the Franklin community,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED, that I, Stephen R. Olson, Mayor of the City of Franklin, Wisconsin, on behalf of all of the Citizens of Franklin, the elected officials and the staff of City government hereby proclaim the highly earned honor and historic recognition of the 2021 Franklin High School Football Wisconsin Division One State Champions, presented this 7th Day of December, 2021.

Stephen R. Olson
Mayor of Franklin

One thought on “Franklin Common Council to honor state champion football team tonight

  1. Pingback: My Most Popular Blogs (12/13/21) | This Just In… From Franklin, WI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s